媒体案例


《30 for 30》限量珍藏版
《30 for 30》限量珍藏版
《30 for 30》限量珍藏版

感动时刻值得珍藏的包装

为了纪念屡获殊荣的《30 for 30》系列的第五周年庆,ESPN电影想要发行珍藏版,连同包装一起,让人们记住这些故事。

当谈到这款珍藏版的包装时,他们想让粉丝们抛硬币来决定,是要一个简单的门票礼盒加上20张蓝光光盘的平张书册,还是要一个独一无二的金属运动更衣室式样的礼品盒,里面含有32张DVD、一件T恤、一顶帽子,以及限量版的书册和海报。

 


详情

珍藏版需要一个标志性的包装。作为一个系列品牌的重心,门票设计非常重要。ESPN电影公司选择将门票的造型转化出一个豪华盒子。MPS设计师非常精于此道,愿意接受这个意想不到的结构挑战。他们设计出边角圆弧与流畅的侧壁,将折叠和包装技术发挥出创意。 为了更加别树一帜,ESPN电影公司设想打造一个运动主题来反映《30 for 30》永恒的精神。MPS特殊包装团队启动全球供应商网络,寻找到最佳的尺寸和颜色搭配,来达成ESPN的愿景。

执行

团队协作帮助我们将ESPN公司的最初设想转化成了现实——从设计开发到生产项目管理,团队力量功不可没。对于最终的成品组装,我们的设计和生产团队精益求精,严格的对准、拼接,轮廓刻画、张平书册,一切都要求尽善尽美。通过 VelveKote™技术对标题的浮雕处理和整合,对粉丝而言更是点睛之作。 这个金属运动更衣室在标题上采用了红黑专色,让标题与外观丝丝入扣。

资源

MPS项目管理团队整合全球资源,在三个国家,16个时区里协作生产,质量监控,物流运输。 我们在印第安纳波利斯工厂生产印刷,将VelveKote触感柔软技术运用到门票礼盒和书册的表面。 我们在墨西哥和中国,与值得信赖的伙伴合作,生产门票礼盒/书册以及金属更衣室,完成最后的组装。


Deadwood 礼品套装
Deadwood 礼品套装
Deadwood 礼品套装

突破成型与功能上的极限

对于Deadwood礼品套装,HBO一直在寻找极致的包装产品,就像他们推动自己的表演一样。他们想用纸质口袋代替传统的塑料光盘,但这在蓝光碟片上从来没有成功过。他们想给旧西部片一个令人回味的风化感,亦想给新西部片一个闪耀的包装。我们热衷探索印刷和包装的新领域,无论是新材料,新技术,还是结构设计上的新挑战。

 


详情

因为在蓝光格式中包含更多数据,光盘比DVD或CD对刮伤更敏感。MPS采用突破性的口袋设计,保护光盘免受伤害。开发团队花了60个小时对20个原图进行设计,花费了240个小时进行测试来实现成型和功能上的平衡。

执行

最后,运用对裱工艺,将书本包装和书套相结合,无论在设计风格、功能和耐用性上都满足了HBO的要求。使用特殊涂层,薄膜对裱,胶粘以及其他独一无二的解决方案,我们把普通材料转化成为特殊包装。我们的防刮口袋设计,完美地保护了光盘。TextureKote技术同时在标题上创造出一个精美的烫金效果。

资源

解决这些挑战需要团队对材料和工艺有最专业的了解。我们可以利用团队和供应商合作伙伴的资源,在通过口袋设计核准的60天后,出色完成了交货。该项目如此复杂的运作涉及到四家工厂,多项印刷工艺,以及数个项目管理团队超过12周的不断努力。


《生化危机2》 特别版
《生化危机2》 特别版
《生化危机2》 特别版
《生化危机2》 特别版

精美包装值得玩家收藏

《生化奇兵2》如许多视频游戏续集一样,在游戏迷中产生了很高的期望值。不用多说,《生化奇兵2》的限量版包装更是众望所归。2代的设计者不仅打算将各种收藏品集结成特别版包装,他更希望盒子本身也是游戏体验的一部分。玩家则希望特别版包装与游戏本身紧密结合。这样一来,如果一个特别版不能物超所值,那玩家们都要失望了。

 


详情

我们采用了柔软触感、透明油墨、全息雕刻等印刷工艺,在打开包装的一瞬间,就让买家大呼惊叹。MPS运用VelveKote™技术,使得黑色外包装更耐用,足以承受航运的压力。我们还完善了透明油墨工艺将秘密消息印在海报上,用全息雕刻工艺将错综复杂的封面完美展现。

执行

2代游戏中有一个数字决定颜色的游戏规则,他们希望包装供应商有一支神奇的蜡笔来帮他们完成。随着25个组件带着两种语言进入三个游戏平台,控制颜色的一致性,是一项复杂的任务。我们利用GRACOL7标准,在所有工厂简化并出色完成了生产,从而达到了所期望的结果。

资源

《生化奇兵2》赋予了MPS的工程师和设计师灵感和技能,孕育出一个无与伦比的生化奇兵2的手工盒,天地盖的精美,纹丝不差,以及超一流的手感。我们在多家工厂协调生产所有部件,以满足项目的急迫交期。MPS在30天内,完成了订购材料、打样审批、大货生产,并最终交付。


Bruce Springsteen 合集
Bruce Springsteen 合集
Bruce Springsteen 合集

经验和协作创造了传奇

这种独特的合集包含了Bruce Springsteen在《the Darkness on the Edge of Town》专辑中所有的创作、编辑和部分创作灵感。根据他最初录音时使用的原始笔记,这个原汁原味的再现,在世界各地的球迷中得到巨大的反响。我们发现一些项目,像这个,就是一个旅程,需要我们沉浸其中,关注细节,付出更大的耐心。成品本身也体现出原创性、极致工艺和手工装配,让人们对这本书念念不忘。 更多关于《Darkness on the Ede of Town》的包装讯息在YouTube可以找到。

 


详情

该项目粗粗一看像是一个简单的笔记本。但马上我们发现它独特的结构和美感要求变成了挑战。我们从一开始就与客户密切合作,关注每一个细节,确保一切看上去绝对原汁原味。所有的包装都是定制的——9个部件10种材料。在30个月的制作过程中,我们投入了1200个小时的设计和打样,最终的结果超出了所有人的预期。

执行

将设计师的设想变为现实意味着选择正确的材料、结构和生产工艺。预料到了生产上的挑战,MPS团队提前计划,原汁原味再现Springsteen的原始笔记本。我们设计并定制了光盘口袋,确保文件平张,结合两种涂层与图像设计出泛黄磁带和撕裂照片的错觉。

资源

MPS管理这个项目,协调跨工厂的生产,包括多道工序,以及手工装配。生产是复杂的,前后跨越12周,包括手工装配定制书套和国际间运输。事实上,我们多纬度的服务,包括设计、生产和项目管理,使得这一设想变为现实。


Marilyn Manson

玛丽莲曼森的苍白皇帝

《苍白皇帝》是工业金属音乐大师玛丽莲曼森的最新专辑,他以隐晦的歌词和机器人般金属质地的嗓音而叱咤乐坛。

与他之前过度陈述性的专辑包装不同,此次协和唱片公司想要用一组经典的黑白色限量版礼盒包装,来展示曼丽莲曼森的内心世界。

这款醇厚高端典雅的包装凸现出苍白皇帝带有蓝调风格、稀疏的韵律和歌词,模仿出传统意义上音乐中的款款深情。

 


详情

MPS创意团队启发协和唱片公司采用精美的印刷工艺表达隐忍却又大胆的艺术效果。随着专辑的发布,全新的GritKote 工艺 精美工艺大放异彩,我们在标签上附上粗糙的纹理,细致入微地制作出了5幅黑白版画。专辑下载卡片上同样运用了GritKote工艺,创造出贯穿始终的美感。MPS科技团队将GritKote工艺完美的融合到客户的图象中。达拉斯和芝加哥工厂采用连线胶印生产,运用GritKote工艺,将沙状颗粒融入定制的UV油墨,创造出无与伦比的质感。

执行

包装礼盒包括了一个由NatuurLinnen包裹着的可折叠打开的硬盒,封面雕有金属抛光照片,侧面凹印标识,封底印有黑色烫金邮票。一套5组版画上特别制作了手工封蜡。专辑中含有8层纸质封套,2个LP封套以及一张超大精美海报。

资源

这款包装由格伦代尔的创意团队设计、芝加哥特殊包装团队管理,多家工厂进行生产,从而达成了客户的艺术理念,给摇滚粉丝们带来一个震惊世界的艺术和音乐享受。 MPS 多家工厂紧密合作,确保色彩统一,所有部件准时送达。

Media Case Studies


30 for 30 Limited Edition
30 for 30 Limited Edition
30 for 30 Limited Edition

Unforgettable Moments deserve Memorable Packaging

In commemoration of its award-winning 30 for 30 Series’ Fifth Anniversary, ESPN Films aspired to promote the films in packaging as memorable as the stories themselves.

When it came to the packaging for this collector’s edition, they let fans make the call with a coin toss between a ticket box and lay flat book holding 20 Blu-Ray discs or a Groupon exclusive sports locker holding 32 DVD’s, a t-shirt, hat, limited edition book and poster.

 


Insight

Both collectable versions needed iconic packaging. Having established ticket imagery as a brand anchor for the series, ESPN Films chose to transform the ticket silhouette into a true luxury box. MPS designers expertly tackled some unexpected structural challenges, creating seamless corner arcs and smooth sidewalls with inventive scoring, folding, and wrapping techniques.
For its Groupon exclusive, ESPN Films wanted to build upon a sports theme while reflecting the timeless nature of the 30 for 30 brand. The MPS special packaging team assembled their global vendor network to find the right combination of size and colors that fit the ESPN vision.

Execution

Teamwork was the key to success in translating ESPN Film’s original vision into realty - from design and development through manufacturing and project management. For the finished ticket box, MPS design and production teams executed with technical precision, aligning the hinged top, contoured sides, and lay flat book to perfection. Adding to the overall fan experience were an embossed title treatment and overall VelveKoteTM finish.
The metal sports locker took on a custom look with a tip-on title plate and the black and red ESPN colors silk-screened.

Resources

The MPS project management team brought everything together, coordinating production, quality control, and logistics across three countries and 16 times zones.
MPS Indianapolis facility produced the printed components for both versions; applying VelveKoteTM to the ticket box and book wraps inline.
MPS worked with their trusted outsource partners in Mexico and China on final production and assembly of the ticket box/book and metal lockers.


Deadwood Gift Set
Deadwood Gift Set
Deadwood Gift Set

Pushing Boundaries in Form and Function

For the Deadwood gift set, HBO was looking to push boundaries with their packaging, just like they pushed boundaries with the show itself. They wanted to replace traditional plastic trays with paperboard pockets, something which had never been done successfully for Blu-Ray discs. They also wanted to give the package a weathered exterior evocative of the Old West and a glossy interior evocative of the Modern Western. Exploring new possibilities for print and packaging technology is something we eagerly embrace, whether it’s new materials, new printing technologies, or a structural design challenge.

 


Insight

Because more data is packed into the Blu-Ray format, the discs are more sensitive to scratching than DVDs or CDs. MPS engineered a groundbreaking pocket design to secure the discs while protecting them from damage. The development effort required 60 hours of design with over 20 prototypes and 240 hours of testing to achieve the right balance of form and function.

Execution

In the end, the bookstyle package and slipcase combined our decorative technologies with laminated materials to create the style, function, and durability HBO desired. With special coatings, film laminations, adhesives, and other unique solutions, standard materials became special packaging. Our scratch resistant pockets delivered, perfectly protecting the discs. We used TextureKote to create a distressed fabric and Foil Stamping on the title treatment.

Resources

The solution to these packaging challenges often lies as much in the expertise of the team as in the available materials and technologies. We were able to draw on the resources of our team and vendor partners to begin delivering product 60 days after pocket approval. The complexity of the project involved four of our manufacturing facilities, several printing technologies, and considerable project management over 12 weeks of production.


Bioshock 2 Special Edition
Bioshock 2 Special Edition
Bioshock 2 Special Edition
Bioshock 2 Special Edition

Premium Packaging Has Gamers Stoked

The sequel to a video game as popular as BioShock by 2KGames was bound to generate high expectations among the game’s fan community. Needless to say, the special edition packaging for BioShock 2 had a lot to live up to. 2K Games not only planned to pack the special edition with a variety of collector’s items, they also wanted the box itself to be part of the experience. Gamers scrutinize special edition video game packaging as closely as the games themselves. So if a special edition isn’t perceived as being worth the higher cost, the community makes its disapproval known.

 


Insight

Decorative technologies—including soft touch, transparent inks, and holographic sculpting—played a big role in giving the package a serious “wow” factor. MPS found a way to make the VelveKote™ used on the black outer wrap durable enough to withstand the rigors of shipping. We also perfected the transparent inks used to include secret messages on a set of posters, and produced the holographic sculpting for the intricate cover sheets.

Execution

2K Games had a color-by-numbers plan for what they wanted this packaging to become, but they needed a partner who had all the right crayons to make it happen. With 25 components in two languages for three console platforms, managing color consistency across materials was complex. Common GRACOL 7 standards across all of our locations greatly simplified the process, achieving the desired result.

Resources

2K Games tapped the engineering and design skills of the MPS team to give the BioShock 2 set box, lid, and tray the precision, uniformity, and weight needed for a super-premium feel. We coordinated the production of all components across multiple facilities to meet the project’s tight deadline. MPS produced the entire project within 30 days, including ordering materials, approvals, sign-offs, and final delivery.


Bruce Springsteen Collector's Edition
Bruce Springsteen Collector's Edition
Bruce Springsteen Collector's Edition

Experience and Collaboration Honor a Legacy

This unique collection represents Bruce Springsteen’s never-before-seen writing, editing and rough ideas for the Darkness on the Edge of Town album. Based on the actual notebook that was used during his original recording sessions, this authentic re-creation has excited fans around the world. We find that some projects, like this one, are a journey, requiring craftsmanship, attention to detail and patience. As the finished piece demonstrates, ingenuity, technical finesse and hand assembly make this book truly unforgettable. More about 'Darkness on the Edge of Town' packaging on youtube

 


Insight

This project first appeared to be printing and production of a simple notebook. It quickly became a unique structural and aesthetic challenge. From the onset, we worked closely with the customer on every detail to ensure everything looked absolutely authentic. Everything about this iconic package was completely custom designed - a total of nine components in ten materials. Over 30 months in the making, with 1,200 hours of design and sample building invested, the final result exceeded all expectations.

Execution

Translating the designer’s vision into reality meant selecting the right materials, structure and blend of production technologies. Anticipating production challenges, the MPS team planned ahead to deliver this authentic reproduction of Springsteen’s original notebook. We created custom disc pockets to ensure a layflat profile and combined two coatings with the graphics to create the illusion of the yellowed tape and torn photographs.

Resources

MPS managed the project, coordinating production across three facilities, including multiple manufacturing processes, as well as hand assembly. Production was equally complex, spanning 12 weeks, including hand assembly of the custom slipcase and international delivery. Virtually our entire scope of design, production, and project management services helped make this vision a reality.


Marilyn Manson

The Pale Emperor by Marilyn Manson

The Pale Emperor is the latest hit album from iconic shockrocker Marilyn Manson, notorious for his dark lyrics and robust metal sounds.

In contrast to his overly illustrated packaging designs from previous albums, Concord Records wanted to show an intimate side of Marilyn Manson in a classic, black and white limited edition box set.

This mellower yet elegant, high-end packaging concept was fashioned around The Pale Emperor’s sparser, blues rock-influenced sounds and lyrics, and mimics the music genre’s traditional soulful theme.

 


Insight

The MPS creative team inspired Concord Records to take advantage of our decorative technologies to achieve the restrained, yet bold artistic effect. Debuting with this release, our new GritKote™ finish wowed the label with a rough texture that added nuanced dimension to the five black and white lithographs. The collectible download card also featured a GritKote finish for a cohesive aesthetic throughout the collection. The MPS technical team was invaluable in translating the GritKote technology to the customer’s artwork. Applied in-line on our offset presses in Dallas and Chicago, GritKote incorporates sand-like particles into a specialized UV coating to create a distinctive grit texture.

Execution

The box set included a hinged rigid box wrapped with NatuurLinnen with a tipped-on metallic high-gloss cover photo, a debossed logotype on the spine, and a black foil stamp title on the back. A set of five lithographs featured a one-of-a-kind, hand applied wax seal monogram. Rounding out the collection were an 8-panel softback, two LP sleeves, and a glossy oversized poster.

Resources

Developed by the Creative team in Glendale, managed by the Special Packaging team in Chicago, and produced in multiple MPS locations, MPS achieved an artistic vision, giving alternative rock fans an astonishingly mastered piece of art and music. Close coordination among MPS locations ensured color consistency and concurrent delivery across all components.